SCI Honored in Hall of Fame

May 26, 2009

by John B. McGrath, Senior Development Officer

he Maritime Association of the Port of New York and New Jersey inducted SCI into its International Maritime Hall of Fame at the United Nations in New York on May 13. Honored in a special category for institutional achievements, SCI joined five other maritime leaders who were celebrated during the Maritime Association’s 16th annual awards ceremony.

The Rev. David M. Rider, Executive Director of SCI, accepted thanks from Carol Lambos, the Maritime Association’s President, for the Institute’s 175 years of service to mariners. Acknowledging SCI’s fellow honorees and 300 other maritime leaders who attended the ceremony, Rider pledged that SCI will adapt to the ever-changing conditions in the maritime field and continue to serve mariners with hospitality, education, and advocacy in the Port of New York and New Jersey and throughout the world.

The Maritime Association’s International Maritime Hall of Fame, established in 1993, recognizes leaders whose unique outlook, foresighted decisions, and outstanding services have benefited the maritime industry.

The maritime leaders recognized with SCI this year included Capt. Timothy Brown of the International Organization of Masters, Mates and Pilots; Peter Georgiopoulos of General Maritime Corporation; Li Shaode of the China Shipping (Group) Company; Doug Marchand of the Georgia Ports Authority; and Douglas Tilden of the Ports America Advisory Group.

SCI’s contingent joining Rider to accept the award included trustees Chet Hooper, Bruce Paulsen, Jim McNamara and Rick Larrabee. Past recipients of the Maritime Association’s Hall of Fame Award include McNamara and four other SCI trustees: Niels Johnsen, Gerhard Kurz, Clay Maitland, and Robert Somerville.

Alberto Aleman Zubieta, who will honored at SCI’s Silver Bell Awards Dinner on June 11 for his accomplishments as the Chief Executive Officer of the Panama Canal Authority, also is a member of the Maritime Association’s Hall of Fame.